David W. Ross

Chairman and Non-Executive Director


David Ross has extensive experience in international tax law and is a partner in the Calgary-based law firm of Burnett Duckworth & Palmer. He has served as Secretary to the Board since the Company was formed in 2004.

Jay Lyons

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director


Jay Lyons joined the Company in May 2019 as a Non-Executive Director and took on the role of Interim Chief Executive Officer in 2020 and Chief Executive Officer in June 2021.

Jay Lyons is a private investor with considerable experience in the oil and gas industries in both Canada and the United States. He has worked in a range of roles for both private and public companies in the upstream and downstream sectors. Jay Lyons has a strong familiarity and understanding of the Songo Songo project and the Tanzanian operating environment.

lisa mitchell

Lisa Mitchell

Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director

United Kingdom

Lisa Mitchell joined the Company as Chief Financial Officer in November, 2021. Lisa Mitchell was the CFO and Executive Director of San Leon Energy plc (AIM: LSE), a Nigeria focused oil and gas company listed in London, and previously the CFO and Executive Director of Lekoil Limited (AIM: LEK), an Africa focused oil and gas company with interests in Nigeria. Lisa Mitchell has also held senior roles at Ophir Energy plc (LSE: OPHR), a former FTSE 250 energy company, CSL Limited (ASX top 50) and Mobil Oil Australia.

Lisa Mitchell is a FCPA (Australia) and holds a Bachelor of Economics from La Trobe University, Melbourne and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance from the Governance Institute of Australia.

Dr Frannie Léautier

Non-Executive Director
Chair of ESG Committee


Dr Léautier is a globally respected development expert and has extensive African and global experience in the public and private sectors. Dr Léautier is a Senior Partner at SouthBridge Group, she is also the Founder and Managing Partner of the Fezembat Group and was previously Senior Vice President of the African Development Bank, where she led efforts to improve the bank’s overall operational effectiveness. Other roles include: Chief Operating Officer for the Trade and Development Bank based in Nairobi, Infrastructure Director, World Bank, Vice President and Head of the World Bank Institute.

Dr Léautier holds a PhD in Infrastructure Systems and a Masters in Transportation from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Linda Beal

Non-Executive Director
Chair of Audit Committee and Strategic Committee

United Kingdom

Linda Beal was a tax partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers in the UK for 16 years and then with Grant Thornton UK LLP.  Linda has significant experience of advising natural resources groups operating in Africa and internationally. Linda is also a non-executive director at Kropz PLC and Hurricane Energy PLC.